A1 Discworld Guide

First, an introduction to the author:

Terry Pratchett OBE - Author of the famous discworld novels

28th April 1948: Terence David John Pratchett OBE, author of the famous Discworld novels and many other books was born in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire, England.

1959: He passed his eleven plus exams and chose to attend High Wycombe Technical high School.

1961: He started early and had his first work in print at the age of only 13. It was a short story called "The Hades Business" and it was published in his school magazine.

1963:"The Hades Business" was reprinted in Science Fantasy magazine and Terry Pratchett became a professional writer, receiving a fee of 14.

1965: He left school and began work as a journalist for the Bucks Free Press. His work "Night Dweller" was published in New Worlds magazine.

1968: He met Peter Bander van Duren, a director of Colin Smythe Limited - a publisher in Buckinghamshire.

1971: His first novel "The Carpet People" was published by Colin Smythe Limited.

1980: He was appointed as the Central Electricity Generating Board publicity officer.

1983: The first Discworld novel "The Colour of Magic" was published.

1987: Parted company with the Central Electricity Generating Board to concentrate on his writing. He has produced books at an estimated rate of two per year.

1998: Awarded an OBE (Order of the British Empire) for "services to literature"

1999: Awarded an honorary degree (Doctor of Literature) by the University of Warwick.


The famous Discworld novels tell the saga of life on a flat disc world which spins on the backs of four elephants, who in turn are supported by a giant turtle called Great A'Tuin. The books are written in a style that generates an addiction and a craving for more discworld humour and parody with every page.

The Discworld books list